Southwest Washington Regional Transportation Council

Agency Celebrates Twenty-Five Years

25 Year Retrospective

On July 1, 1992, twenty-one governmental agencies across Clark, Skamania and Klickitat counties, including Metro and ODOT (Oregon) joined to form the Southwest Washington Regional Transportation Council. Shortly thereafter, three additional governments were added to comprise the current twenty-four member strong RTC.

Upon formation, RTC took upon itself the federal designation of Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for transportation planning and funding affairs within Clark County and with bi-state partners in Oregon, and Regional Transportation Planning Organization (RTPO) for administering the transportation planning requirements for Clark, Skamania and Klickitat Counties under the regulations of Washington State.

Over the course of the past 25 years, RTC has helped facilitate transportation planning studies and collaboration among the member agencies and has distributed over $230 million in grant funding for investment in multi-modal transportation infrastructure projects.

With many important community growth and transportation investment needs facing the RTC region, partnership and collaboration among member agencies is as important now as it was at formation back in 1992. At this 25-year anniversary milestone, RTC staff have prepared a retrospective report to look back at the agency’s accomplishments with the hope of inspiring current RTC member agencies and stakeholders of the potential for the future.

25 Year Retrospective, 3.6MB

Quarter Century of Grant Awards, 6.4MB

July 25, 2017 ⋅ PermaLinkArchive